Adirondack Town Of Franklin
Adirondack Town Of Franklin

Town of Franklin Board Meetings

Special Board Meeting And Budget Workshop
October 22, 2007 - 7:00 pm

The Town Board of the Town of Franklin held a duly advertised Special Board Meeting and Budget Workshop on Monday, October 22, 2007 at 7:00 pm at the Vermontville Town Hall.

Board members present:

    Supervisor Mary Ellen Keith
    Councilperson Janet Ordway
    Councilman Tim Goff
    Councilman Gene Goff

Board members absent:

    Councilman Walt Kretser

Others Present:

    Budget Officer Richard Meagher, Highway Superintendent James Rascoe, Deputy Highway Supt. Eric Merrill, Town Clerk Sandra Oliver, J. R. Risley, Adirondack Association of Towns, Al Berg, Cliff Smalley, Doe Smalley, Richard Jarvis

    Supervisor Keith called the meeting to order; the Pledge of Allegiance was recited; the Town Clerk called the roll, and announced a quorum was present.


Mr. Risley, Supervisor of the Town of Herkimer, is also President of the Adirondack Association of Towns ("AATV"). AATV was formed in 1992 with 11 towns and villages in the Adirondack Park in order to lobby for legislation affecting municipalities in the Park, a unique area in the United States. Currently 85% of all Adirondack Park municipalities are members of AATV. Several years ago while discussing various Park issues with members of an environmental group, AATV found there was no data available regarding infrastructure and quality of life matters for municipalities in the Park. AATV along with Adirondack North Country Assn. and the Town of Arietta, applied for a Quality Communities Grant for $92,800 in order to gather information on quality of life issues such as the affect of State-owned land on towns in the Park (i.e., State refusing access to forest preserve land for public utility to upgrade infrastructure which would benefit the town - Tupper Lake is having a problem with this). Mr. Risley distributed copies of the Adirondack Park Regional Assessment Project Overview and Scope of Work to the Board. Matching funds of $62,000 from members of AATV was a requirement of the grant, and the $200 contribution requested is half of the Town of Franklin's share of that matching funds donation. Another $200 will be requested in 2008. AATV is in process of contracting with a consultant which will administer the data collection. Questionnaires will be mailed out to town supervisors and mayors in late February 2008. Following compilation of the raw data, AATV hopes to create a database with private donations which member municipalities can access.

The Board thanked Mr. Risley for his attendance and informative presentation. He then left the meeting.

Motion to authorize payment of $200 to AATV (General Fund Abstract #10, Voucher #185) (M.Keith-T.Goff m/s/p) ALL AYE


Budget Officer Richard Meagher presented the Highway Fund of the 2008 Tentative Budget to the Board. He explained the tentative budget is assembled from input gathered from department heads. Mr. Meagher reviewed the Highway Fund portion of the 2008 Tentative Budget line by line, and following discussion, adjustments were made. In a discussion concerning the stipend paid to the Deputy Highway Superintendent, Couns. Gene Goff, Janet Ordway and Tim Goff agreed that if Eric Merrill resigns as Deputy Highway Supt., his replacement would receive a lower stipend. Mr. Meagher then left the meeting.

      a. Proposed Section 284 Agreement for 2008. Highway Supt. Rascoe distributed copies of the proposed 284 agreement, setting forth his plans for summer 2008 road repair, to the Board. The Board will review and discuss same at a later date.
      b. Replacement Computer for Highway Dept. The Highway Dept. computer crashed. The Town Clerk researched the OGS website for a Dell Opti-Plex 320 Mini Tower computer and found one at $689.25. Supervisor Keith requested authorization to order same.

    Motion for resolution re purchase of replacement computer (G.Goff-J.Ordway m/s/p) ALL AYE

RESOLUTION NO. 51: AUTHORIZE PURCHASE OF DELL OPTI-PLEX 320 AS HIGHWAY DEPT. COMPUTER REPLACEMENT WHEREAS, the computer in the Highway Dept. no longer functions; and WHEREAS, in accordance with Town procurement policy, NYS OGS was researched; NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Supervisor is authorized to order a Dell Opti Plex 320 Minitower desktop computer (without printer) in sum of $689.25

Those voting aye:

    Supervisor Mary Ellen Keith
    Councilman Tim Goff
    Councilman Gene Goff
    Councilperson Janet Ordway

Those absent:

    Councilman Walt Kretser

Those voting nay:


    Supv. Keith distributed copies of a letter received from the Niles, Piller law firm representing Mr. and Mrs. Guerin concerning encroachment on right-of-way on Garden Road by the Gilmore family's rock wall. As the letter threatened imminent legal action, Supv. Keith telephoned the attorney and related some of the past history of the situation. The matter has been referred the matter to James Maher, attorney for the town.

    There being no further business to conduct, the meeting adjourned at 9:37 pm

    Motion to adjourn (M.Keith-J.Ordway m/s/p) ALL AYE

Respectfully submitted, Sandra J. Oliver, Town Clerk

Click here to see past minutes

Town of Franklin
P.O. Box 209, Route 3, Vermontville, NY 12989  ·  Tel: 518-891-2189  ·  Fax: 518-891-6389  ·
© Town of Franklin  ·  Website Design: Rainbow Graphics
You are the visitor. Thank You for stopping by.